Ashley Harris

How long have you been at DCCH, what is your position, and what transitions have you had here (if any)?

I have worked at DCCH for a year and a few months. I started in May 2020 and my first position was a weekend TBS full-time in ACT unit, and then moved to another apartment. Then I transitioned to a new role when an opportunity became available where I could train as a school staff for 2 Rear, which I was happy to apply for.

What's something people don't know about you?

I don’t think some people know that I am the first of my family to graduate from college. Hopefully soon I will go back to get a master’s degree.

Tell us about family - what's that look like?

My family is huge and close knit, even with the recent passings we’ve had. We’re making sure that we are spending time and making memories while we can. My family is open minded and inviting and I am happy to share those traits in my work life.

What do you love the most about working here?

I am learning a lot of new things. One thing I’ve had the pleasure of working on is Time Management. With the change in pace from different positions and always being alert for unexpected events, time management is something I am very focused on.

What is your biggest challenge in this job?

My biggest challenge is making sure I’m not pouring from an empty cup. Even as an adult I am learning new ways to self-care, and I love that DCCH is installing healthy ways of self-care in our children at young age. I feel like my family prepared me well for my future.